Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

Press

Tuesday, February 6th, 2018

Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite Share Acoustic Performance Of "No Mercy In This Land"

GRAMMY-Award winning, multiplatinum-selling artists BEN HARPER and CHARLIE MUSSELWHITE continue to gear up for the March 30th release of No Mercy in This Land, today sharing an exclusive acoustic performance video of the album’s lead title track.

“No Mercy in This Land,” featuring chilling vocal performances from both Ben and Charlie, is a deeply personal track that speaks to a darker, grittier approach for the duo on this album. The song itself captures the emotional loss Charlie experienced when his mother was murdered. With heart- wrenching lyrics and its powerful and primal blues sound, Charlie laments, “Fa-ther left us down here all alone, my poor mother is under a stone. With an aching heart and trembling hands, is there no mercy in this land.”

“This is personal to me,” says Charlie of the record. “It’s the essence of blues… to me it's about feeling. And that feeling there is pure.” Having never discussed the meaning behind the lyrics, Ben reflects, “With Charlie, some things I pick up on are spoken and some are unspoken, but we know a lot about each other. But the deepest part of our friendship doesn't need to be said.”

It’s this level of intimacy that makes their upcoming album something special. No Mercy in This Land promises an impressive showcase of musical virtuosity that takes listeners on a sonic journey through Ben and Charlie’s stories of survival. The album is currently available for preorder now at www.NoMercyInThisLand.com and will include an IG download of the album’s title track, which is also available to stream at the link here: https://open.spotify.com/album/2aLf6x0n1siokqfxVR9DSA

PREORDER FOR NO MERCY IN THIS LAND IS AVAILABLE EVERYWHERE NOW
www.NoMercyInThisLand.com

WATCH AN ACOUSTIC PERFORMANCE OF “NO MERCY IN THIS LAND” HERE
https://youtu.be/P36YeOPBqIA

STREAM “NO MERCY IN THIS LAND” HERE
http://spoti.fi/2FNwvvy

SPOTIFY EMBED:

YOUTUBE EMBED:

BEN HARPER + CHARLIE MUSSELWHITE 2018 TOUR DATES

*All dates and locations are subject to change.

Friday, March 30 San Francisco, CA The Fillmore

Saturday, March 31 San Francisco, CA The Fillmore

Tuesday, April 3 Glasgow, UK Oran Mor

Friday, April 6 Manchester, UK Academy 2

Saturday, April 7 London, UK Shepherds Bush Empire

Monday, April 9 Amsterdam, Holland Paradiso

Tuesday, April 10 Berlin, Germany Huxleys

Wednesday, April 11 Cologne, Germany Live Music Hall

Thursday, April 12 Luxembourg, Luxembourg Den Atelier

Saturday, April 14 Brussels, Belgium La Madeleine

Sunday, April 15 Brussels, Belgium La Madeleine

Tuesday, April 17 Paris, France La Cigale

Wednesday, April 18 Paris, France La Cigale

Friday, April 20 Paris, France La Cigale

Monday, April 23 Milan, Italy Fabrique

Wednesday, April 25 Geneva, Switzerland Salle des Fetes

Friday, April 27 Barcelona, Spain Barts

Saturday, April 28 Barcelona, Spain Barts

Monday, April 30 Lisbon, Portugal Aula Magna

Thursday, May 3 Madrid, Spain La Riveria

Monday, May 7 Los Angeles, CA Troubadour

Tuesday, May 8 Los Angeles, CA Troubadour

Wednesday, May 9 Los Angeles, CA Troubadour

Saturday, May 12 Solana Beach, CA Belly Up

Sunday, May 13 Solana Beach, CA Belly Up

Tuesday, May 15 Solana Beach, CA Belly Up

Wednesday, May 16 Solana Beach, CA Belly Up

Monday, May 28 Toronto, ONT Mod Club

Tuesday, May 29 Toronto, ONT Mod Club

Wednesday, May 30 Toronto, ONT Mod Club

Saturday, June 2 South Burlington, VT Higher Ground

Sunday, June 3 Cambridge, MA The Sinclair

Monday, June 4 Cambridge, MA The Sinclair

Friday, June 8 New York, NY The Bowery Ballroom

Saturday, June 9 New York, NY The Bowery Ballroom

Sunday, July 29 Detroit, MI St. Andrews Hall

Monday, July 30 Chicago, IL Thalia Hall

Tuesday, July 31 Chicago, IL Thalia Hall

Wednesday, August 1 Saint Paul, MN Palace Theater

Friday, August 3 Denver, CO Gothic Theater

Monday, August 20 Calgary, AB Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium

Tuesday, August 21 Edmonton, AB Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium

Wednesday, August 23 Vancouver, BC Orpheum Theatre

Monday, August 27 Santa Cruz, CA The Catalyst

Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite's artist page

Browse by Artist

1537All Artists 56Dr. Dog 53The Milk Carton Kids 51Sean Rowe 49Mavis Staples 48Neko Case 44Tinariwen 43Lost In The Trees
34Saintseneca 33Michael Franti and Spe... 33Galactic 33Son Little 31Jolie Holland 28William Elliott Whitmo... 27Man Man 27Doe Paoro 25Bettye LaVette 24Glen Hansard 23Jason Lytle 22Tom Waits 22Booker T. Jones 22Sage Francis 21Islands 20Daniel Lanois 20Calexico 20DeVotchKa 18Joe Henry 18Wilco 18So Much Light 17Tim Fite 17Grinderman 17Xenia Rubinos 17Christopher Paul Stell... 17Prism Tats 16Porter Wagoner 16Peter Silberman 16Andy Shauf 15Yann Tiersen 14John K. Samson 14The Antlers 13The Coup 13Busdriver 13Rain Machine 13Delicate Steve 12The Melodic 11Kelly Hogan 11Beth Orton 11Keaton Henson 11Japandroids 10Roky Erickson 10Os Mutantes 10Xavier Rudd 10Bob Mould 10Dead Man's Bones 10Beat Connection 9The Locust 9Mose Allison 9Marketa Irglova 9Kate Bush 9Deafheaven 9Jade Jackson 9Cass McCombs 9Cameron Avery 9Girlpool 9Ben Harper and Charlie... 8The Frames 8A Girl Called Eddy 8Greg Graffin 8The Dream Syndicate 7Solillaquists of Sound 7The Field 7Alec Ounsworth 7The Drums 6Ramblin Jack Elliott 6Broken Twin 6Kronos Quartet with Br... 6N.A.S.A. 6Pops Staples 6Richard Reed Parry 5The Weakerthans 5Tweedy 5Elliott Smith 5Cadence Weapon 5The Swell Season 5Rafiq Bhatia 5Walter Wolfman Washing... 5Mothers 5Marc Ribot 4Eddie Izzard 4Antibalas 4One Day As A Lion 4Muggs 4Petra Haden 4Curtis Harding 4Arc Iris 4Lido Pimienta 4case/lang/veirs 4Ryan Pollie 4Foxwarren 3Danny Cohen 3Marianne Faithfull 3Sierra Leones Refugee... 3The Book Of Knots 3Simian Mobile Disco 2Chuck E. Weiss 2Blackalicious 2Savath & Savalas 2Spoon (Europe only) 2Billy Bragg 2Lyrics Born 2Various Artists: RANGO 2Screaming Lights (Euro... 2Title Fight 2Jeff Tweedy 1Nick Cave & The Bad Se... 1Various Artists: ROGUE... 1Rogue's Gallery 1Un Blonde
See Full List+