Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

Press

Wednesday, February 20th, 2019

Cass McCombs Presents "Sleeping Volcanoes" Video

Cass McCombs’ ninth full-length album, Tip of the Sphere, was released just over a week ago to a range of praise. Following the recently released “Absentee” video, McCombs returns to the album’s first single and the thematic centerpiece of the album, “Sleeping Volcanoes,” with a video where dancers destroy Tahiti Pehrson’s contemporary art piece, “The Rising Body.” It was shot in San Francisco Financial and Tenderloins districts and in the forests of Marin County. As previously described by McCombs, “Sleeping Volcanoes” is about “people passing each other on the sidewalk unaware of the emotional volatility they are brushing past, like a sleeping volcano that could erupt at any moment.” McCombs and band will embark on their international tour on March 4th (all dates are below).

Watch “Sleeping Volcanoes” Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySb3kgoVAe4

Credits:
Artwork and set by Tahiti Pehrson
Created by: Cass McCombs, Jaclyn Katz, Noe Chavez, Micah Vassau
Edited by Matt Sklar
Dancers: Andrea Cortes-Juarbe, Rana Halprin, Ryan Reid, Paolo Speirn, Esme Pehrson
Assistant Camera: Kaitlyn Pearce

Stream/Purchase Tip of the Sphere: https://ffm.to/cm_tipofthesphere

Praise for Tip of the Sphere:

“Tip of the Sphere again rejects easy definitions and expectations, growing and surprising with every listen.” - Pitchfork

“‘Tip of the Sphere’ finds McCombs is enigmatic as ever, but his enthralling talent makes it a treat to snuggle in beneath his songs.” -- Associated Press

“[Tip of the Sphere] represents familiar footing within the catalogue of one of indie rock’s most enigmatic artists working — the furthest thing from an insult, considering the impressive consistency of his discography.” - Vulture

“His most immersing and casually skillful collection of songs to date.” -- Vanity Fair

“[On Tip of the Sphere] McCombs reaches fully toward the idea of songwriting as myth-making . . . He revels in the album as cinema, as cosmos, as something that should be written and left for rumination.” -- NPR Music

“If the process of making and buying art is a con, then McCombs’ latest, Tip of the Sphere, is an excellent heist.” - The FADER

“[Tip of the Sphere is] a record for the end of the world, albeit one that sounds like it could have been made at any point in the last half-century, with its country inflections, floating melodies, and psychedelic digressions.” - Noisey

“A woodsy abstractionist-turned-master-of-vernacular” - Rolling Stone

“Tip of the Sphere really takes a few listens to settle in, and once it’s drilled its way into your brain, it stays there.” - Brooklyn Vegan

“Another impressive notch in the belt of a talented artist whose unusual, often offbeat approach is what makes him so distinctive, entrancing and appealing.” - American Songwriter

Cass McCombs Tour Dates:
Mon. March 4 - Washington, DC @ Union Stage *
Tue. March 5 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live *
Thu. March 7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Murmrr *
Fri. March 8 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Sat. March 9 - Boston, MA @ The Sinclair *
Mon. March 11 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern *
Tue. March 12 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom *
Thu. March 14 – Nashville, TN @ EXIT/IN *
Fri. March 15 - Indianapolis, IN @ HiFi *
Sat. March 16 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *
Sun. March 17 – Milwaukee, WI @ The BackRoom at Collectivo *
Mon. March 18 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club *
Wed. March 20 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre *
Sat. March 23 - Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room *
Mon. March 25 - Vancouver, BC @ St. James *
Tue. March 26 - Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey *
Wed. March 27 - Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater *
Fri. March 29 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *
Sat. March 30 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre *
Sun. March 31 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Beauty Bar *
Tue. April 2 - Santa Barbara, CA @ SOHo *
Thu. April 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Moe’s Alley*
Fri. April 5 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *
Thur. April 25 – Marfa, TX @ Marfa Myths
Sat. May 25 – Madrid, SP @ Tomavistas Festival
Tue. May 28 – Prague, Czech Republic @ MeetFactory
Wed. May 29 – Berlin, Germany @ Frannz-Club
Thu. May 30 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Alice
Fri. May 31 – Hamburg, Germany @ Nochtspeicher
Sat. June 1 – Gent, Belgium @ DOK Box
Mon. June 3 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso Nord
Tue. June 4 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Thu. June 6 – London, UK @ EartH
Fri. June 7 – Helsinki, Finland @ Sideways Festival
Wed. June 19 - Calgary, AB @ Sled Island
Thu. Aug. 29 - Tollard Royal, UK @ End of the Road Festival

* = with Sam Evian

Cass McCombs' artist page

Browse by Artist

1675All Artists 59Mavis Staples 56Dr. Dog 54The Milk Carton Kids 51Sean Rowe 50Tinariwen 49Neko Case 43Lost In The Trees
37Son Little 36Saintseneca 33Michael Franti and Spe... 33Galactic 32Glen Hansard 31Jolie Holland 28William Elliott Whitmo... 28Doe Paoro 27Man Man 25Bettye LaVette 23Jason Lytle 22Tom Waits 22Booker T. Jones 22Sage Francis 21Islands 21Christopher Paul Stell... 20Daniel Lanois 20Calexico 20DeVotchKa 20Xenia Rubinos 18Joe Henry 18Wilco 18So Much Light 18Prism Tats 18Delicate Steve 17Tim Fite 17Grinderman 17The Drums 16Porter Wagoner 16Peter Silberman 16Andy Shauf 15Yann Tiersen 15Jade Jackson 15Girlpool 14John K. Samson 14The Antlers 14The Dream Syndicate 13The Coup 13Busdriver 13Rain Machine 12The Melodic 12Cass McCombs 11Kelly Hogan 11Beth Orton 11Keaton Henson 11Japandroids 11Richard Reed Parry 10Roky Erickson 10Os Mutantes 10Xavier Rudd 10Bob Mould 10Dead Man's Bones 10Beat Connection 10Deafheaven 10Ryan Pollie 10Ben Harper and Charlie... 9The Locust 9Mose Allison 9Marketa Irglova 9Kate Bush 9Cameron Avery 8The Frames 8A Girl Called Eddy 8Greg Graffin 8Yves Jarvis 7Solillaquists of Sound 7The Field 7Alec Ounsworth 7Foxwarren 7Darrin Bradbury 6Ramblin Jack Elliott 6Broken Twin 6Kronos Quartet with Br... 6N.A.S.A. 6Pops Staples 6Combo Chimbita 6Rafiq Bhatia 6Jeremy Ivey 6Boy Scouts 5The Weakerthans 5Tweedy 5Elliott Smith 5Cadence Weapon 5The Swell Season 5Walter Wolfman Washing... 5Mothers 5Marc Ribot 4Eddie Izzard 4Antibalas 4One Day As A Lion 4Muggs 4Petra Haden 4Curtis Harding 4Arc Iris 4Lido Pimienta 4case/lang/veirs 4The Good Ones 3Danny Cohen 3Marianne Faithfull 3Sierra Leones Refugee... 3The Book Of Knots 3Simian Mobile Disco 3Purr 2Chuck E. Weiss 2Blackalicious 2Savath & Savalas 2Spoon (Europe only) 2Billy Bragg 2Lyrics Born 2Various Artists: RANGO 2Screaming Lights (Euro... 2Title Fight 2Wynonna 2Jeff Tweedy 2Glitterer 1Nick Cave & The Bad Se... 1Various Artists: ROGUE... 1Rogue's Gallery 1Ben Harper
See Full List+