Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Tom Waits Real Gone

Tom Waits - Real Gone
  • Release date: October 5, 2004
  • Label: Anti/Epitaph
  • Recording year: 2004
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778667864
  • ©2004 Anti-
  • ℗2004 Anti-
Release Tracks

About Tom Waits' Real Gone

Written and produced by Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan, his wife and long-time collaborator, Real Gone features 15 tracks of funk, Jamaican rock-steady, blues both urban and rural, rhythms and melodies both Latin and African and, for the first time, no piano. The crash and collide of rhythms and genres within a song creates a hybrid unlike any music he has and the sonic mayhem and nonsense rhyme ride to "Top of the Hill" are both punctuated by a live band and turntable playing along to Waits' home recorded voice percussion.

Tom Waits' artist page