Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Arc Iris Arc Iris

Arc Iris - Arc Iris
  • Release date: April 1, 2014
  • Label: Anti/Epitaph
  • Recording location: Dimension Sound - Jamaica Plain, MA
  • Recording year: 2013
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778731466
  • ©2014 Arc Iris, under exclusive license to Anti, Inc.
  • ℗2014 Arc Iris, under exclusive license to Anti, Inc.
Release Tracks

About Arc Iris' Arc Iris

Arc Iris’s self-titled debut album is out now on Anti- Records.

Arc Iris is inspired by 70s pop, folk and country traditions, cabaret, jazz and classical. The eclectic new project from the former Low Anthem member draws on diverse music from Led Zeppelin to Grizzly Bear, from Joni Mitchell to Dirty Projectors, and from Miles Davis to Chopin. A singer, multi-instrumentalist, classical composer and former NASA researcher, Adams formed the collective with primary musicians Zach Tenorio-Miller (piano), Ray Belli (drums), Max Johnson (bass), Robin Ryczek (cello), Charlie Rose (pedal steel, trombone), and Mike Irwin (trumpet) among others to present her ambitious new songs. The rhythm section has been playing together since high school and cut their teeth at the School of Rock where they shared a stage with musicians such as Slash, Perry Farrell, Andrew WK, Jon Anderson of Yes and the Butthole Surfers. Arc Iris has recently played shows with Calexico, CocoRosie, Marco Benevento, Menomena, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Patrick Watson and Justin Townes Earle.

Before departing The Low Anthem to form Arc Iris, Adams released two albums with that band, who were praised by the New York Times for music that “inhabits its own otherworldly place, where ghosts and angels hover just out of view” and by Under the Radar for how they “flawlessly balance heartfelt warbles with gritty countryside wail.”

The debut self-titled Arc Iris record is available now at iTunes

Arc Iris' artist page