Sign up for our mailing list Connect / Register Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

News

Thursday, May 14th, 2009

Xavier Rudd Announces North American Tour

Ground Breaking Multi-instrumentalist to Tour North America in Support of His Evocative New Album Dark Shades of Blue

Australian musician, activist, and surfer Xavier Rudd's newest tour will be nothing short of out of this world with headlining dates begin June 18th in Houston and ending up north in Canada July 23rd.

It only makes sense that one would wake up in outer space listening to Xavier Rudd's music, and so it did for the astronauts aboard the space shuttle Endeavour last November when they awoke to Rudd's otherworldly song "Shelter" serenading them as they floated in orbit. The rest of us can now recreate the experience when this entirely original artist embarks on a musical trek across North America in support of his landmark new album Dark Shades of Blue.

Dark Shades highlights a heavier psychedelic side of Rudd only hinted at on earlier releases. The guitar-fueled songs, mixed by the renowned Joe Barresi (Tool, Queens of the Stone Age), are more complex and rocking than what audiences have come to expect from the lifelong surfer and Dave Matthews tour mate. Yet fans will not be disappointed, for the new direction still holds true to Rudd's passion for mixing rock and folk with indigenous instruments and a host of other voices.

"On Dark Shades of Blue, I think we captured what we do live," Rudd explains. "The thickness of it, the tone - I think we finally achieved what I've always wanted to hear on my recordings".

Praise for Xavier Rudd:

"...he struck a sure bond with his jam-happy audience, encouraging rapture as well as a sense of belonging" - New York Times

"The audience... were soon mesmerized by this energetic one-man jam band's musical joie de vivre and songs evoking the natural world sung in a mellow, Jack Johnson-Ben Harper-style voice. Rudd's now a bona fide phenomenon." - Rocky Mountain News

"It's an ethereal, mesmerizing mix, a hypnotic caustic carnie, burning to your very soul." -The Telegram

"The opening fifteen minutes of Rudd's performance had the audience bouncing uncontrollably to a heady fusion of throbbing lap-guitar riffs and huge, almost tribal beats." - dailymusicguide

Xavier Rudd North American Tour Dates

Thursday, June 18, 2009 House of Blues Houston 1204 Caroline St, Houston, TX 77002

Friday, June 19, 2009 House of Blues Dallas 2200 N Lamar, Dallas, TX 75202

Saturday, June 20, 2009 La Zona Rosa 612 West 4th Street, Austin, TX

Tuesday, June 23, 2009 Rialto Theatre 318 E. Congress, Tucson, AZ

Wednesday, June 24, 2009 Marquee Theatre 730 N Mill Ave, Tempe, AZ 85281

Thursday, June 25, 2009 House of Blues San Diego 1055 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101

Friday, June 26, 2009 House of Blues 8430 Sunset, West Hollywood, CA 90069

Saturday, June 27, 2009 Fillmore 1805 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94142

Monday, June 29, 2009 The Showbox 1426 First Ave, Seattle, WA 98101

Wednesday, July 1, 2009 Commodore Ballroom 868 Granville St, Vancouver, BC (Canada)

Thursday, July 2, 2009 Commodore Ballroom 868 Granville St, Vancouver, BC (Canada)

Friday, July 3, 2009 Commodore Ballroom 868 Granville St, Vancouver, BC (Canada)

Saturday, July 4, 2009 Donald Cameron Hall Ampitheatre Banff, AB (Canada)

Sunday, July 5, 2009 Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium 1415-14 Avenue N.W., Calgary, AB (Canada)

Monday, July 6, 2009 Winspear Centre 9720 102 Ave., Edmonton, AB (Canada)

Wednesday, July 8, 2009 TCU Place 35-22nd Street East, Saskatoon, SK (Canada)

Thursday, July 9, 2009 Winnipeg Folk Festival @ Birds Hill Park Winnipeg, MB (Canada) Set: 8:00 PM

Wednesday, July 15, 2009 Metropolis 59 Ste. Catherine E., Montreal, QC (Canada)

Saturday, July 18, 2009 Sunflower Valley Evolve Music Festival, Antigonish, NS (Canada)

Wednesday, July 22, 2009 Queen Elizabeth Theatre CNE Grounds, Toronto, ON (Canada)

Thursday, July 23, 2009 Queen Elizabeth Theatre CNE Grounds, Toronto, ON (Canada)

Facebook | Twitter | Google Plus