Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list


Wednesday, December 2nd, 2009

Bettye LaVette Follows Her Performance At Obama's Inaugural Festivities With Her Own Recorded Version Of "A Change Is Gonna Come"

DATE: MAY 6, 2009



Having conquered the ghosts of a hard-luck past on her GRAMMY-nominated CD The Scene of the Crime, BETTYE LAVETTE shines a new light on that past with her latest, A CHANGE IS GONNA COME SESSIONS. The digital-only EP for Anti- Records, available exclusively through iTunes starting June 16, revisits BETTYE's forgotten post-Atlantic Records years as a nightclub singer, Broadway performer, and touring cast member opposite Cab Calloway in "Bubbling Brown Sugar."

The EP opens with a stirring solo version of Sam Cooke's posthumous Civil Rights anthem "A Change Is Gonna Come," a song which BETTYE sang with Jon Bon Jovi in January as part of the "We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial" concert. Joining BETTYE for these Sessions are pianist and musical director Al Hill, veteran bassist John Heard - who has accompanied such luminaries as Count Basie, Cole Porter, Ella Fitzgerald, and Art Pepper - drummer Danny Frankel (k.d. lang, Lou Reed), and Tom Hagerman from DeVotchKa on strings.

A mix of standards and soul classics from BETTYE's 1970s stage and nightclub repertoire rounds out the 6-song set, including songs by Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, Bill Withers, and Jimmy Reed. A rendition of Billie Holiday's "God Bless The Child" - a song that BETTYE first performed with show-stopping magnificence in "Bubbling Brown Sugar" - highlights BETTYE's vocal mastery. Rather than attack, BETTYE approaches these tracks with subtlety - while nonetheless wresting every ounce and every nuance of meaning from the words she sings. Once more, BETTYE provides the definitive answer to the question posed by NPR in its review of The Scene of the Crime: "Is there any soul singer who brings more guts, more conviction and more emotion to her singing?" Absolutely not.

This nod to the past is just the latest step in a nearly five-decade career that has truly come full circle and is now pointed straight ahead: from early promise to a masterwork (Child of the Seventies) shelved by Atlantic Records; from Broadway to obscurity; from a triumphant return with her 2005 Anti- debut I've Got My Own Hell To Raise, to a GRAMMY nomination for The Scene of the Crime; and most recently her devastating performances honoring The Who at the Kennedy Center Honors in December 2008, paired with Jon Bon Jovi at the Lincoln Memorial for President Obama's inaugural celebration in January, and alongside Sir Paul McCartney at a Radio City Music Hall benefit for the David Lynch Foundation in April.

The Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl raved about BETTYE's performance at the Kennedy Center Honors on Air America radio, saying, "Bettye LaVette...She is gonna steal the show. She was so phenomenal, this performance of The Who song that she did. It will bring you to tears. The room was pin-drop silent when she did this song, and it was just unbelievable."

The Who's own Pete Townshend concurred in a Q&A on his blog at "My favorite moment was when Bettye LaVette sang a very fine version of 'Love Reign O'er Me' at the Gala and Barbra Streisand turned to ask me if I really wrote it."

Meanwhile, her duet of "A Change Is Gonna Come" with Jon Bon Jovi was a transcendent moment in BETTYE's career. As BETTYE told the Dallas Morning News, "When I got to the line 'I always believed a change would come,' my eyes fixed on [Obama] and I was kinda stunned. Our eyes locked and he was mouthing the words along."

As Phil Gallo noted in Daily Variety, "Bettye Lavette, who took D.C. by storm last month at the Kennedy Center Honors, was partnered with Jon Bon Jovi on Sam Cooke's 'A Change Is Gonna Come.' She invested it with anguish, he approached it from a perspective of reasoned logic, giving the [performance] considerable gravitas."

Indeed, BETTYE is no stranger to such praise in this new dawn of her career, as the acclaim for The Scene of the Crime demonstrated. "Is there a more wrenching soul singer alive than Bettye LaVette?" asked Entertainment Weekly. "If so, keep it to yourself, because I'm too wrung out from Crime's intensity to take anything more emotionally potent." USA Today proclaimed, "This album...just rips, with some truly sublime peaks," while Rolling Stone added, "LaVette's nuanced singing evokes prime Tina Turner with even more command."

The track listing for BETTYE's iTunes exclusive A CHANGE IS GONNA COME SESSIONS is as follows:

1. "A Change Is Gonna Come" (Sam Cooke)
2. "'Round Midnight" (Thelonious Monk)
3. "God Bless The Child" (Billie Holiday / Arthur Herzog)
4. "Lush Life" (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn)
5. "Ain't No Sunshine" (Bill Withers)
6. "Ain't That Lovin' You" (Jimmy Reed)

Bettye LaVette's artist page

Browse by Artist

1488All Artists 56Dr. Dog 51Sean Rowe 50The Milk Carton Kids 46Mavis Staples 44Neko Case 44Tinariwen 43Lost In The Trees
33Michael Franti and Spe... 33Galactic 33Son Little 31Jolie Holland 28William Elliott Whitmo... 27Man Man 27Saintseneca 25Bettye LaVette 24Glen Hansard 24Doe Paoro 23Jason Lytle 22Tom Waits 22Booker T. Jones 22Sage Francis 21Islands 20Daniel Lanois 20Calexico 20DeVotchKa 19Delicate Steve 18Joe Henry 18Wilco 18So Much Light 17Tim Fite 17Grinderman 17Xenia Rubinos 17Christopher Paul Stell... 17Prism Tats 16Porter Wagoner 16Peter Silberman 16Andy Shauf 15Yann Tiersen 14John K. Samson 14The Antlers 13The Coup 13Busdriver 13Rain Machine 12The Melodic 11Kelly Hogan 11Beth Orton 11Keaton Henson 11Japandroids 10Roky Erickson 10Os Mutantes 10Xavier Rudd 10Bob Mould 10Dead Man's Bones 10Beat Connection 9The Locust 9Mose Allison 9Marketa Irglova 9Kate Bush 9Jade Jackson 9Cameron Avery 8The Frames 8A Girl Called Eddy 8Greg Graffin 8The Dream Syndicate 8Ben Harper and Charlie... 7Solillaquists of Sound 7The Field 7Alec Ounsworth 7The Drums 6Ramblin Jack Elliott 6Broken Twin 6Kronos Quartet with Br... 6N.A.S.A. 6Pops Staples 6Deafheaven 6Cass McCombs 6Girlpool 5The Weakerthans 5Tweedy 5Elliott Smith 5Cadence Weapon 5The Swell Season 5Rafiq Bhatia 5Walter Wolfman Washing... 4Eddie Izzard 4Antibalas 4One Day As A Lion 4Muggs 4Petra Haden 4Arc Iris 4case/lang/veirs 4Ryan Pollie 3Danny Cohen 3Marianne Faithfull 3Sierra Leones Refugee... 3The Book Of Knots 3Curtis Harding 3Simian Mobile Disco 2Chuck E. Weiss 2Blackalicious 2Savath & Savalas 2Spoon (Europe only) 2Billy Bragg 2Lyrics Born 2Various Artists: RANGO 2Screaming Lights (Euro... 2Title Fight 2Jeff Tweedy 1Nick Cave & The Bad Se... 1Various Artists: ROGUE... 1Rogue's Gallery 1Un Blonde
See Full List+