Sign up for our mailing list Connect / Register Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

Press

Tuesday, March 13th, 2012

Under The Radar Debuts New Yann Tiersen Video

Under The Radar Magazine is premiering a highly imaginative video for the song "Another Shore" from the new Yann Tiersen album Skyline out this April 17th via Anti Records. The song is a powerfully atmospheric and emotionally moving track from the highly acclaimed composer and multi instrumentalist. As Tiersen explains, "The track muses on a long melody with colorful sounds and lot's of guitars, with light and dark dynamic. The distorted Toy Piano at the beginning is a reference to instruments that were used in my early albums - the distortion brings the old to the new."

The accompanying clip was created by Ivan Rusev from a story by Gergana Zabunova. It features a darkly whimsical tale of everyday life realized through animation. "Yann really wanted something absurd for this video," says Rusev. "A linear story that was simple but strange. It follows the story of an old lady waiting for a bus seemingly in the middle of nowhere where everything is maddeningly against her. Everyone in the video is out to get everyone else in their own little way, but they are all just as weak and silly as each other."

You can view the new video for Yann Tiersen's "Another Shore" by going to Under The Radar.

Skyline was recorded between Paris, San Francisco & and Ouessant a tiny island off the coast of West Brittany and mixed by Ken Thomas (Sigur Ros, M83, David Bowie, Psychic TV). A lush array of vintage synths adds billowing, analogue textures, electric guitars and bass bring layers of fuzz and distortion. Songs slip from their moorings, take off on new and unexpected currents. Voices join together in chorus, arcing violins and crashing drums build towards mighty fanfares - but then, clouds part, squall recedes to silence, and mournful piano and strings guide you home.

Yann Tiersen Tour Dates:

Thursday, 4/26/2012, 8:00 pm, Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA, US
Friday, 4/27/2012, 8:00 pm, Irving Plaza, New York, NY, US
Saturday, 4/28/2012, 8:00 pm
Music Hall of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY, US
Sunday, 4/29/2012, 8:00 pm, Royal Boston, Boston, MA, US
Tuesday, 5/01/2012, 8:00 pm, Metropolis, Montreal, QC, CA
Wednesday, 5/02/2012, 8:00 pm, The Phoenix Theatre, Toronto, ON, CA
Thursday, 5/03/2012, 8:00 pm, Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland, OH, US
Friday, 5/04/2012, 8:00 pm, Metro, Chicago, IL, US
Saturday, 5/05/2012, 8:00 pm, First Avenue, Minneapolis, MN, US
Tuesday, 5/08/2012, 8:00 pm, Showbox at the Market, Seattle, WA, US
Wednesday, 5/09/2012, 8:00 pm, Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver, BC, CA
Thursday, 5/10/2012, 8:00 pm, Wonder Ballroom, Portland, OR, US
Friday, 5/11/2012, 8:00 pm, Regency Ballroom, San Francisco, CA, US
Saturday, 5/12/2012, 8:00 pm, The Music Box, Los Angeles, CA, US
Monday, 5/14/2012, 8:00 pm, Belly Up, San Diego, CA, US
Tuesday, 5/15/2012, 8:00 pm, The Rialto Theatre, Tucson, AZ, US
Thursday, 5/17/2012, 8:00 pm, TREES, Dallas, TX, US
Friday, 5/18/2012, 8:00 pm, Emo's East, Austin, TX, US
Saturday, 5/19/2012, 8:00 pm, Fitzgeralds, Houston, TX, US
Sunday, 5/20/2012, 8:00 pm, House of Blues, New Orleans, LA, US
Tuesday, 5/22/2012, 8:00 pm, Beacham Theatre, Orlando, FL, US
Wednesday, 5/23/2012, 8:00 pm, Grand Central, Miami, FL, US
Thursday, 5/24/2012, 8:00 pm, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta, GA, US
Friday, 5/25/2012, 8:00 pm, Cat's Cradle, Chapel Hill, NC, US
Saturday, 5/26/2012, 8:00 pm, 9:30 Club, Washington, DC, US

Yann Tiersen's artist page