Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Calexico Algiers (Deluxe Edition)

Calexico - Algiers (Deluxe Edition)
  • Release date: September 11, 2012
  • Label: Anti/Epitaph
  • Release version: Deluxe Edition
  • Recording location: The Living Room Studio - Algiers, LA
  • Recording year: 2012
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778720804
  • ©2012 Anti, Inc.
  • ℗2012 Anti, Inc.
Release Tracks

About Calexico's Algiers (Deluxe Edition)

Calexico's Anti debut and their first album in four years, Algiers, is available now. Core duo Joey Burns and John Convertino relocated to New Orleans with co-producer Craig Schumacher for the bulk of the recording sessions, living and working in a converted church in the outskirts neighborhood for which the record is named.

Revitalized and reborn by the city, Burns and Convertino wrote several of the album's dozen new songs in the studio. "The place is strong and bold, soulful to the core, but surrounded by a sea of darkness," Burns says of New Orleans. "There's something creepy and old on the edge of town and written throughout the town's histories. Those kinds of aesthetics help with the writing."

Calexico's artist page