Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Alfa Mist Bring Backs

Alfa Mist - Bring Backs
  • Release date: April 23, 2021
  • Label: Anti/Epitaph
  • Recording year: 2020
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778778966
  • ©2021 Anti
  • ℗2021 Anti

About Alfa Mist's Bring Backs

London based producer, pianist, bandleader and MC Alfa Mist today announces his fourth full-length solo record Bring Backs, out April 23rd via ANTI-. The album announcement is accompanied by brand-new single ‘Run Outs’, a skittering jazz exploration centred on Alfa’s Rhodes piano lines.

“Run Outs is a street game I remember playing when I was younger” says Alfa; “I used to think of making beats and playing with a band as separate worlds until I realised I was always trying to achieve the same thing. Making the music I want to make. With the song “Run Outs” I'm bringing together the vibe of my earliest beats with where I'm at today."

Bring Backs marks Alfa’s first release for the label ANTI- and is also the most detailed exploration of his upbringing in musical form. The album’s nine tracks of groove-based intricacies, lyrical solipsism and meandering fragmentations are tied together by a remarkable poem written by Hilary Thomas expressing the sensuous realities of building community in a new country. Entirely written and produced by Alfa, the album was recorded in London with a core band of longtime collaborators including Jamie Leeming (guitar), Kaya Thomas-Dyke (bass and vocals), Jamie Houghton (drums) and Johnny Woodham (trumpet).

Alfa Mist's artist page