Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Xenia Rubinos Cógelo Suave

Xenia Rubinos - Cógelo Suave
  • Release date: May 11, 2021
  • Label: ANTI-
  • Recording year: 2021
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778771301
  • ©2021 ANTI-
  • ℗2021 ANTI-

About Xenia Rubinos' Cógelo Suave

Birthed from a bass line she would often play during sound check, the song responds to the question that so many lately find impossible to answer: “how are you?’’. After looping through an electric, chaos-containing melody, the song resolves on the repeated phrase ‘just work it out’, making it all seem possible. The track was recorded in the height of quarantine (Spring 2020), when the world was slipping into a deep kind of chaos, Xenia’s mom had an experience with covid, and it was generally hard to tell which way was up, the process of making the track provided a cloak of resilience. ‘The more I think about it, the more I realize that the wxorld was totally burning down around us while we were producing this track and in the song I guess I’m saying ‘I’m fine. THIS IS FINE,’ says Xenia.

Xenia Rubinos' artist page