Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Xavier Rudd Koonyum Sun

Xavier Rudd - Koonyum Sun
  • Release date: April 19, 2010
  • Label: Anti/Epitaph
  • Recording year: 2010
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778709762
  • ©2010 Xavier Rudd / Salt X Records Ltd. Under Exclusive License To Anti Inc.
  • ℗2010 Xavier Rudd / Salt X Records Ltd. Under Exclusive License To Anti Inc.
Release Tracks

About Xavier Rudd's Koonyum Sun

The album is recorded in 301 Studio's in Byron Bay Australia, under the bright sunny skies, surrounded by white sand beaches and rolling turquoise waves - a setting that couldn't be better for this album. Moving away from the heavier edged sound that he pursued on Dark Shades of Blue, Xavier is back to his upbeat, hip swaying sound that has been his may stay on previous recordings.

The album marks a fresh, new musical and spiritual awakening for Rudd, perhaps most notably as it's his first with bassist Tio Moloantoa and percussionist Andile Nqubezelo (of the late Lucky Dube's band) under the unified banner of Xavier Rudd & Izintaba. Though the trio has been performing together for many months, Koonyum Sun is their first collaborative collection of songs - a triangle of influence that carries a piece of each individual member, yet keeps them all connected. Thanks to the input of Inzintaba, there's a staggering amount of vigor to this release that Xavier Rudd fans haven't seen to date. There's also more vocal variation, with colourful harmonies in several different languages soaring atop the music.

"It's been the most inspirational musical experience of my life," shares Rudd about his writing with Tio and Andile. "We have an undeniable connection - musically, spiritually, and emotionally. I feel like they were sent to me."

Xavier Rudd's artist page