Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Cameron Avery Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams

Cameron Avery - Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams
  • Release date: March 10, 2017
  • Label: Anti/Epitaph
  • Recording year: 2016
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778750962
  • ©2017 Anti
  • ℗2017 Anti
Release Tracks

About Cameron Avery's Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams

Singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Cameron Avery's debut solo album Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams is available now. Known for his work as the touring bassist for Tame Impala, Avery offers an ornate yet gritty sound driven by his soulful wit and sweeping arrangements.

With his deep, husky baritone, Avery harnesses the dark power and humor of artists like Nick Cave, Scott Walker, and Tindersticks. On his self-produced album, Avery channels train-wreck romanticism into timeless music for the modern age.

“I wanted to make something that sounded like the old records I love—Johnny Hartman, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley, Sarah Vaughan, Etta James—the big band stuff with less metaphorical lyrics,” says Avery of the inspiration for Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams.

Cameron Avery's artist page