Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Tweedy Sukierae

Tweedy - Sukierae
  • Release date: September 23, 2014
  • Label: Anti/Epitaph
  • Recording location: The Loft - Chicago, IL
  • Recording year: 2014
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778734467
  • ©2014 dBPM Records, under exclusive license to Anti, Inc.
  • ℗2014 dBPM Records, under exclusive license to Anti, Inc.
Release Tracks

About Tweedy's Sukierae

Jeff Tweedy, best known as the founder of the pioneering Chicago rock band Wilco, has released a new album through his own dBpm Records. The album, Sukierae (sue-key-ray), is not quite a solo effort. It is the debut release by the aptly-monikered duo, Tweedy, which features 20 new Jeff Tweedy-written songs, performed by Jeff in a musical collaboration with his 18-year-old son and drummer Spencer Tweedy.

“When I set out to make this record, I imagined it being a solo thing, but not in the sense of one guy strumming an acoustic guitar and singing,” Jeff said. “Solo to me meant that I would do everything – write the songs, play all the instruments and sing. But Spencer's been with me from the very beginning demo sessions, playing drums and helping the songs take shape. In that sense, the record is kind of like a solo album performed by a duo."

Tweedy's artist page