Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Yves Jarvis The Zug

Yves Jarvis - The Zug
  • Release date: May 13, 2022
  • Label: ANTI- Records/Flemish Eye
  • Recording year: 2022
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778791668
  • ©2022 ANTI- Records/Flemish Eye
  • ℗2022 ANTI- Records/Flemish Eye

About Yves Jarvis' The Zug

The Zug, shorthand for Zugzwang, is a situation in which the obligation to make a move in one's turn is a serious, often decisive, disadvantage. Zug is a town in Switzerland. All things collapse into a single point. The point is a pin prick and also a door. Conventions of space are distorted; at times utterly mangled. The area is still familiar though, like a mother’s voice it beckons us reassuringly toward the horizon. “Do not resist!”, we are reminded – but how can we face the music? It glares like the sun in our face and we are entirely exposed. Yves Jarvis reminds us that anything worth its salt is a contradiction and we must relinquish control.

Yves Jarvis' artist page