Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

Press

Wednesday, November 13th, 2019

Andy Shauf Releases New Song "Try Again"

Andy Shauf releases a new single/video, “Try Again,” from The Neon Skyline, his new album due January 24th via ANTI-. The Neon Skyline’s interconnected songs are all written, performed, arranged and produced by Shauf, and follow a simple plot: the narrator goes to his neighborhood dive, finds out his ex is back in town, and she eventually shows up.

Following the “lush, jazzy retro pop-rocker” (Stereogum) “Things I Do,”“Try Again,” continues to present Shauf’s distinct style of storytelling as he describes an awkwardly funny and charming reunion between the song’s narrator and his ex:

“Somewhere between drunkenness and chivalry, I hold the door open and let her pass through. She says thanks to me in a British accent and I try to answer her in the same voice. She laughs at me, says ‘What was that supposed to be?’ I say ‘I’m sorry, I’m from a different part of the country.’ She says ‘Come on baby, try again.’

Somewhere between drunkenness and sincerity, I smile at her for just a little too long. Charlie’s drinking wine, Judy's laughing at him, she says ‘I forget that you’re such a fancy guy.’ He tips his hat, says ‘M’lady, do you come here often?’ I swear I’ve seen them do this one a couple times before. Come on baby, try again.

Somewhere between drunkenness and charity, she puts her hand on the sleeve of my coat. She says ‘I’ve missed this.’ I say ‘I know, I’ve missed you too.’ She says, ‘I was actually talking about your coat.’ She makes me laugh, oh how she makes me laugh. I just let my head sink down and fake some deep sobs. Come on baby, try again.

Somewhere between drunkenness and jealousy, I watch her talking to some old friend. What a reunion, he recognized her across the room. How many years could there be to catch up on? And somewhere between drunkenness and honesty, I make a silent toast to the things that I do and don’t miss. Come on baby, try again.”

The “Try Again” video was directed by Gérald Fleury and Timo Hateau of Mizotte & Cabécou and is an entirely hand-made, animated short film. “Rather than illustrating the storyline, we imagined our own offbeat tale like a parallel to the song,” says Mizotte & Cabécou. “Design, motion, colors and atmosphere are influenced by the pop and childish dream world of 70's French animation (Chapi Chapo, The Magic Roundabout).”

The Neon Skyline follows 2016’s The Party, and is Shauf’s most direct and emotionally-rich work yet. His characters are all sympathetic here, people who share countless inside jokes, shots, and life-or-death musings when the night gets hazy. On top of heartbreak, friendship, and the mundane moments of humanity that define his songwriting, Shauf makes music that explores how easy it is to find yourself in familiar patterns and repeat the same mistakes of your past. The songs on The Neon Skyline ultimately take solace in accepting that life goes on and things will be okay.

Andy Shauf will tour North America this upcoming winter. Then, after a European run, he will return stateside this spring. Tickets are on sale now and all dates can be found below.

Watch Andy Shauf’s Video for “Try Again” - https://youtu.be/thiHFeIw_5U

Stream “Things I Do” - https://youtu.be/MF9DjpLsZWM

Pre-order The Neon Skyline - https://andyshauf.ffm.to/theneonskyline

Andy Shauf Tour Dates:

Fri. Feb. 7 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups *

Sat. Feb. 8 - Lexington, KY @ The Burl *

Sun. Feb. 9 - Knoxville, TN @ Barley’s Taproom *

Tue. Feb. 11 - Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *

Thu. Feb. 13 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall *

Fri. Feb. 14 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk *

Sat. Feb. 15 - Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co. *

Tue. Feb. 18 - Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom *

Thu. Feb. 20 - Los Angeles, CA @ Fonda Theater *

Fri. Feb. 21 - San Francisco, CA @ August Hall *

Sat. Feb. 22 - Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *

Mon. Feb. 24 - Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall *

Tue. Feb. 25 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos *

Wed. Feb. 26 - Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom *

Fri. Feb. 28 - Calgary, AB @ Bella Concert Hall *

Sat. Feb. 29 - Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite Room *

Mon. March 2 - Saskatoon, SK @ Broadway Theatre *

Tue. March 3 - Regina, SK @ The Exchange *

Wed. March 4 - Winnipeg, MB @ Park Theatre *

Thu. March 5 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Hall *

Fri. March 6 - Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo *

Sat. March 7 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *

Fri. March 13 - Lyon, FR @ Epicerie Moderne

Sat. March 14 - Bordeaux, FR @ Krakatoa

Tue. March 17 - Birmingham, UK @ Hare and Hounds

Wed. March 18 - Glasgow, UK @ Mono

Thu. March 19 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla

Fri. March 20 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

Sat. March 21 - Bristol, UK @ Fiddlers

Sun. March 22 - Brighton, UK @ Chalk

Wed. March 25 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique Orangerie

Thu. March 26 - Utrecht, NL @ TivoliVredenburg

Fri. March 27 - Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown

Sat. March 28 - Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje

Mon. March 30 - Hamburg, DE @ Elbphilharmonie

Tue. March 31 - Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen

Wed. April 1 - Stockholm, SE @ Nalen Klubb

Thu. April 2 - Oslo, NO @ Ingensteds

Sat. April 4 - Berlin, DE @ Silent Green

Sun. April 5 - Cologne, DE @ Luxor

Mon. April 6 - Rouen, FR @ Le 106

Tue. April 7 - Paris, FR @ Trianon

Wed. April 8 - London, UK @ Shepherds Bush Empire

Fri. April 24 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall ^

Sat. April 25 - Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre ^

Sun. April 26 - Sheffield, MA @ Race Brook Lodge ^

Tue. April 28 - Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club ^

Thu. April 30 - Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw ^

Fri. May 1 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer ^

Sat. May 2 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat ^

Mon. May 4 - Charlottesville, NC @ The Southern ^

Tue. May 5 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle ^

Wed. May 6 - Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle ^

Fri. May 8 - Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West ^

Sat. May 9 - New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks ^

Sun. May 10 - Birmingham, AL @ Saturn ^

Tue. May 12 - Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi ^

Wed. May 13 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Andy Warhol Museum ^

Fri. May 15 - Asbury Park, NJ @ House of Independents ^

Sat. May 16 - Woodstock, NY @ Colony Cafe ^

*= w/ Molly Sarlé

^ = w/ Faye Webster

Andy Shauf's artist page

Browse by Artist

1879All Artists 61Mavis Staples 56Dr. Dog 55The Milk Carton Kids 51Sean Rowe 50Tinariwen 49Neko Case 46Son Little
43Lost In The Trees 37Saintseneca 34Glen Hansard 33Galactic 33Michael Franti and Spe... 31Jolie Holland 28William Elliott Whitmo... 28Doe Paoro 28Andy Shauf 27Man Man 25Bettye LaVette 24Calexico 23Jason Lytle 23Christopher Paul Stell... 22Gary V 22Xenia Rubinos 22Delicate Steve 22Booker T. Jones 22Tom Waits 22Sage Francis 21Islands 20The Antlers 20The Drums 20DeVotchKa 20Daniel Lanois 19The Dream Syndicate 18Girlpool 18Joe Henry 18So Much Light 18Wilco 17Cass McCombs 17Tim Fite 17Grinderman 16Porter Wagoner 16Peter Silberman 16Jade Jackson 16Yves Jarvis 15Yann Tiersen 15Lido Pimienta 14Japandroids 14John K. Samson 13Rain Machine 13Busdriver 13Jeremy Ivey 13The Coup 12The Melodic 12Ben Harper 12M. Ward 12Deafheaven 12Richard Reed Parry 11Beth Orton 11Kelly Hogan 11Keaton Henson 11Hey, King! 11Ryan Pollie 10Bob Mould 10Rafiq Bhatia 10Os Mutantes 10Beat Connection 10Dead Man's Bones 10Xavier Rudd 10Roky Erickson 10Ben Harper and Charlie... 9Marketa Irglova 9The Locust 9Mose Allison 9Cameron Avery 9Kate Bush 9Half Waif 9Darrin Bradbury 8Wynonna 8Boy Scouts 8Purr 8A Girl Called Eddy 8Deradoorian 8The Frames 8Greg Graffin 8Glitterer 7Combo Chimbita 7Fleet Foxes 7Alec Ounsworth 7Foxwarren 7Solillaquists of Sound 7Josiah Johnson 7The Field 6Pops Staples 6Ramblin Jack Elliott 6The Good Ones 6Christian Lee Hutson 6Kronos Quartet with Br... 6Broken Twin 6N.A.S.A. 5Walter Wolfman Washing... 5Tweedy 5The Weakerthans 5Cadence Weapon 5Marc Ribot 5Mothers 5The Swell Season 4Petra Haden 4Danny Elfman 4case/lang/veirs 4Alfa Mist 4Arc Iris 4Eddie Izzard 4Antibalas 4One Day As A Lion 4Curtis Harding 4Muggs 3The Book Of Knots 3Danny Cohen 3Madi Diaz 3Simian Mobile Disco 3Sierra Leones Refugee... 3Marianne Faithfull 2Billy Bragg 2Blackalicious 2Various Artists: RANGO 2Chuck E. Weiss 2Jeff Tweedy 2Title Fight 2Screaming Lights (Euro... 2Savath & Savalas 2Spoon (Europe only) 2Lyrics Born 1Rogue's Gallery 1Various Artists: ROGUE... 1Nick Cave & The Bad Se...
See Full List+