Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms

Sign up for our mailing list

Tinariwen Tassili (Deluxe)

Tinariwen - Tassili (Deluxe)
  • Release date: August 30, 2011
  • Label: Epitaph
  • Release version: Deluxe
  • Recording location: Tassili N'Ajjer's Desert - South Algeria
  • Recording year: 2011
  • UPC/EAN Code: 45778714834
  • ©2011 WEDGE S.A.R.L., under exclusive license to Anti, Inc.
  • ℗2011 WEDGE S.A.R.L., under exclusive license to Anti, Inc.
Release Tracks

About Tinariwen's Tassili (Deluxe)

The soundtrack of the Touareg revolution in Saharan North Africa was created by electric guitars. Plaintive rhythms created a unique desert blues whose lyrics raged against world indifference and evoked a longing for disappearing freedoms. On their enthralling new album entitled Tassili, the renowned band Tinariwen have set down their electric guitars and returned to the very essence of their art. Recorded in a protected region of the South-Eastern Algerian desert, the group returned to the roots of their music, with only acoustic guitars and unamplified percussion.

During recording, the band was joined by Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone of the band TV On The Radio. Later on, guitarist Nels Cline (Wilco) and the horns of the Dirty Dozen Brass Band contributed to create an album that reaches deep into the essence of Tinariwen's sound while simultaneously opening itself to the surrounding world.

Tinariwen's artist page