Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

News

Cass McCombs’ New Album, Heartmind, Is Out Today via ANTI-
Friday, August 19th, 2022

Cass McCombs’ New Album, Heartmind, Is Out Today via ANTI-

Today, Cass McCombs releases his tenth album, Heartmind, via ANTI-. In conjunction, he presents a new video for one of its songs, “New Earth.” Heartmind feels like a journey among assorted tuneful feelings, somehow shaped to meet whatever it is a particular listener needs. Where some may hear dark humor, others might hear relentless pain; where some may hear winning cynicism, others might hear harrowing nihilism.  

Produced by frequent Frank Ocean collaborator, Buddy Ross, “New Earth” is a clever paean of post-humanity renewal: “Today is the day after the last day on Earth // It’s such a glad day! // After a very, very, very bad day // After today, who can say?” “‘New Earth’ I guess you could say is a lighthearted, bossa nova-ish song about welcoming in a new dawn where wildlife crushes technology,” says McCombs. “I owe a debt to the musicians, Joe Russo, Jon Shaw, Frank LoCrasto, The Chapin Sisters, and producer Buddy Ross for helping create this imaginary event/place/feeling.” The song’s accompanying video was animated by Daniel Bermudez. 

Next month, Cass McCombs will embark on a North American tour in support of Heartmind.

Cass McCombs Tour Dates 

Wed. Sept. 7 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom 
Thu. Sept. 8 - Ferndale, MI @ Magic Bag 
Fri. Sept. 9 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall 
Sat. Sept. 10 - Indianapolis, IN @ HiFi 
Sun. Sept. 11 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small’s 
Mon. Sept. 12 - Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace 
Wed. Sept. 14 - Boston, MA @ Royale 
Thu. Sept. 15 - Ardmore, PA @ Ardmore 
Fri. Sept. 16 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall 
Sat. Sept. 17 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club 
Wed. Sept. 28 - Madrid, ES @ Teatro Lara 
Thu. Sept. 29 - Zaragoza, ES @ Luis Galve 
Fri. Sept. 30 - Alicante, ES @ Teatro Arnichas 
Sat. Oct. 1 - Valencia, ES @ 16 Toneladas 
Tue. Oct. 4 - Milano, IT @ Bellezza 
Thu. Oct. 6 - St. Gallen, CH @ Palace St. Gallen 
Fri. Oct. 7 - Schorndorf, DE @ Manufaktur 
Sat. Oct. 8 - Paris, FR @ Café De La Danse 
Mon. Oct. 10 - Bristol, UK @ Redgrave Theatre 
Wed. Oct. 12 - Manchester, UK @ The Stoller Hall 
Thu. Oct. 13 - London, UK @ Alexandra Palace Theatre 
Sat. Oct. 15 - Dublin, IE @ Liberty Hall 
Sun. Oct. 16 - Glasgow, UK @ Mackintosh Church 
Tue. Oct. 18 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique Rotonde 
Wed. Oct. 19 - Cologne, DE @ Artheater 
Thu. Oct. 20 - Utrecht, NL @ Cloud 9  
Sat. Oct. 22 - Berlin, DE @ Frannz Club 
Sun. Oct. 24 - Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher 
Tue. Oct. 25 - København S, DK @ DR Studie 2 
Wed. Oct. 26 - Stockholm, SE @ Slaktkyrkan 
Fri. Oct. 28 - Oslo, NO @ Oslo Parkteatret 

Browse by Artist

1962All Artists 97Tom Waits 73Mavis Staples 59Neko Case 51Lost In The Trees 50Sean Rowe 48Dr. Dog 45The Milk Carton Kids
41Jolie Holland 40Bettye LaVette 37Man Man 36Son Little 35Tinariwen 33DeVotchKa 33Tim Fite 31Islands 31Grinderman 28Saintseneca 27Galactic 27Wilco 24Glen Hansard 24Delicate Steve 24Michael Franti and Spe... 24Xenia Rubinos 23Andy Shauf 22Doe Paoro 22William Elliott Whitmo... 22Bob Mould 21Nick Cave & The Bad Se... 21The Frames 20Christopher Paul Stell... 20Joe Henry 19Sage Francis 19Cass McCombs 19Booker T. Jones 19Yves Jarvis 18Calexico 18Gary V 18Deafheaven 17Yann Tiersen 17John K. Samson 16The Antlers 16The Drums 16Ramblin Jack Elliott 16Danny Elfman 16Jason Lytle 14Daniel Lanois 14Jeremy Ivey 13Billy Bragg 13The Dream Syndicate 12Combo Chimbita 12Peter Silberman 12Girlpool 12Xavier Rudd 11Mose Allison 11Roky Erickson 11Lyrics Born 11The Weakerthans 11Jade Jackson 11Ryan Pollie 11Rain Machine 10Boy Scouts 10The Melodic 10Darrin Bradbury 10The Swell Season 10So Much Light 9Curtis Harding 9Hey, King! 9Madi Diaz 9N.A.S.A. 9Marianne Faithfull 9Josiah Johnson 9Cameron Avery 9Half Waif 8Greg Graffin 8Lido Pimienta 8The Coup 8Solillaquists of Sound 8Wynonna 8Cadence Weapon 7Dead Man's Bones 7Ben Harper and Charlie... 7Beth Orton 7Christian Lee Hutson 7Alec Ounsworth 7Title Fight 7Kelly Hogan 7Eddie Izzard 7Japandroids 7Richard Reed Parry 7Elliott Smith 7Ben Harper 7M. Ward 6Broken Twin 6Deradoorian 6Busdriver 6Glitterer 6A Girl Called Eddy 6Purr 6Alfa Mist 6Rafiq Bhatia 6Kate Bush 6Os Mutantes 5Foxwarren 5Leyla McCalla 5Jasmyn 5Keaton Henson 5One Day As A Lion 5Beat Connection 5Kristine Leschper 5Ezra Furman 5The Field 5Moor Mother 5Art Moore 4High Pulp 4The Good Ones 4Jackson+Sellers 4Pops Staples 4Marketa Irglova 4Ersi Arvizu 3Marc Ribot 3Walter Wolfman Washing... 3Sierra Leones Refugee... 3Danny Cohen 3Petra Haden 3Mavis Staples & Levon... 3Mothers 2Plains 2Jeff Tweedy 2Fleet Foxes 2Various Artists: RANGO 2sunking 2The Tallest Man On Ear... 1James Brandon Lewis 1Antibalas 1Tricky 1Simian Mobile Disco 1Merle Haggard 1Bonny Doon 1ANTI- Records 1Blackalicious 1Porter Wagoner 1Youth Group 1The Locust 1Joe Strummer And The M... 1case/lang/veirs 1Kronos Quartet with Br... 1Various Artists: ROGUE... 1Rogue's Gallery
See Full List+